Categories
Writing

If Pinocchio still exists

The tale of a boy whose nose would grow as it was being fed with lies. Alas… how would Pinocchio carry his tail of a nose if he were alive today? The lies and deceit we need to put up with is atrocious! I’ve recently witnessed how stories are woven by purported journalists and bloggers; watched them twist tales of deceit around facts, and lace fact with fiction.

I write faction. Fact+fiction. But in a creative and harmless way. I write short stories, made up of fact and laced with fiction. I write for myself. I write for fun.

However, when newsmen and women start writing faction as articles in a newspaper, isn’t that a tad Pinocchio-ism? This country where I live is after all, a place where titles are important and untrained professionals can undertake tasks as though they were trained. It’s a land where everything is possible. Anyone you want to be, can! I now even start to question the authenticity of my own words.

By Jasmine, GoInternationalGroup.com

Jasmine is writer, director, producer & co-founder of GIG: GoInternationalGroup.com, an OMNI-media platform established since 2005 that creates, curates and disseminates creative content that is focused on public health messaging with a goal to halve non-communicable diseases in the Asia Pacific region by 2030. Our consulting business offers strategic brand and marketing communication ideation, planning and execution of brand activation, creative services, production and distribution.

Leave a comment